PSMLA Student & Teacher Awards

Created on Sunday, 05 Jan 2020 16:02:48

PSMLA is pleased to announce the following awards available to our members and their students for the 2019-2020 school year. See the details and deadlines for each award below.  

PSMLA Student Awards

PSMLA Outstanding Graduating High School Senior Award:

Nominate your outstanding high school world language senior for the PSMLA Outstanding High School Graduating World Language Student Award.  The deadline for applications is March 25, 2020.

Selection criteria:

a.   Students must have a minimum of 3.75 grade point average in world language classes (based on a 4.0 system).

b.   Students must have studied at least one world language other than English for 4 consecutive years

c.   Students must also have an overall grade point average of 3.5 (based on a 4.0 point system).

d.   Students must have made outstanding contributions to world language activities in their school.

e.   Students must be interested in pursuing a career that will utilize language skills.


  • Teachers nominating students must be members of PSMLA by March 1 of the current year.

  • A teacher may nominate one student per world language that he/she teaches.


1ST Place:   $300 award and a one-year membership in PSMLA for the student, along with a one-year membership in PSMLA for the nominating teacher.

2nd Place:   $200 award for the student

3rd Place: $100 award for the student

Honorable Mention: certificate for the student

Winning students will be featured on the PSMLA website.

Nomination Form

PSMLA Student Recognition Award

Do you want to recognize those of your students who show their enthusiasm and interest in World Language?  Request PSMLA Student Recognition Certificates by May 1. See details online.

PSMLA Awards 2020

Please note: All award nominations are due to no later than MARCH 1, 2020. Criteria for the following awards and the applications can be found at under the Awards tab.

Calling for nominations for the following awards:

PSMLA Teacher of the Year:

Candidates must be full-time world language Pre-K-12 teachers or postsecondary instructors or professors who spend at least 50% of their time in direct teaching during the year of application with an expectation of teaching for at least two additional years.  Candidates must be in the profession a minimum of five years and demonstrate excellence in world language education; be an active member of PSMLA for a minimum of 3 complete consecutive years; demonstrate leadership in world language education; impact the local, state, and/or national arenas; and demonstrate continued growth as a world language educator.

PSMLA Outstanding World Language Educator of the Year:

 Maximum awards: one K-12 and one post-secondary education
Criteria considered:

    • Significant contribution to the profession  

    • Minimum ten years teaching, supervisory and/or administrative experience 

    • Membership for three current, consecutive years in PSMLA  

    • Active involvement in at least one other foreign language association is highly recommended.  

    • Recipients receive a plaque at the Fall Conference.  

    • Candidates may be selected from the region where the conference is held.

  • Current Executive Council members are not eligible.

 Merit Award:

  • Criteria

    • Given to individuals or institutions who have rendered exceptional service in the promotion of foreign languages

    • Must be individuals or institutions outside the foreign language profession

  • One to three awards presented at the Fall Conference

  • Recipients receive a plaque at the Fall Conference

  • Current Executive Council members are not eligible.

FRANK MULHERN LEADERSHIP AWARD: Nominations due by March 1, 2020 to

 The Frank Mulhern Leadership Award recognizes the EXEMPLARY work of an individual who has:

• provided outstanding leadership in the foreign language profession in the state, region and /or nation

• contributed significantly to the work of PSMLA. 

Conditions for eligibility:

  • The recipient must have been a member of PSMLA for a minimum of 10 years and must still be active in the work for which the award is being given.

  • The recipient has contributed significantly on regional and/or national levels by one or more of the following or similar activities:

  • serving on boards of regional and national foreign language associations

  • presenting  frequently at regional or national conferences

  • leading curriculum development efforts with a regional and/or national impact


Cemanahuac Scholarship

Please consider nominating a qualified Spanish teacher for the Cemanahuac Scholarship:

PSMLA is pleased to offer Spanish teachers a scholarship for two weeks of intensive study at the Cemanahuac Educational Community in Cuernavaca, Mexico.  See  for details.  The awardee may attend for any two weeks that the program is offered in the summer of the current year. The scholarship, worth approximately $1100.00, includes registration, tuition for two weeks, housing (double occupancy), with all meals, and one field trip, in addition to the regular Spanish language study program. The following are expenses not covered in the scholarship: air transportation to Mexico City, transfer to Cuernavaca, textbooks, and personal expenses.  PSMLA will reimburse up to $400.00 for transportation costs once the session is completed. 

The PSMLA Awards Committee with the approval of the Executive Council will select the winner of the Cemanahuac Scholarship.

Please Note: Nominee must be a member in good standing of PSMLA for at least two years prior to applying. 

Applications must be in by March 1.

PSMLA Scholarship Application

Contact Us

For general information about PSMLA, including membership and registration, please contact:


For questions related to the website, please contact:


To submit items for PSMLA News Updates, please read the instructions and contact: